Broward Health Coral Springs Recognized For Higher Quality in Maternity Care

Blue Cross Blue Shield (BCBS) of Florida has recognized Broward Health
Coral Springs with a Blue Distinction® Center+ for Maternity Care
designation as part of the Blue Distinction Specialty Care program. Blue
Distinction Centers are nationally designated hospitals that show
expertise in delivering improved patient safety and better health
outcomes, based on objective measures that were developed with input
from the medical community.

“We are honored to be included on this list of healthcare facilities for
providing exceptional care, and we will continue to provide life-saving,
evidence-based, safe care to patients across South Florida and beyond,”
said Broward Health President/CEO Beverly Capasso.

Nearly four million babies are born in the U.S. annually, making
childbirth the most common cause of hospitalization, and cesarean
section the most common operating room procedure, according to the
National Centers for Health Statistics and the Agency for Healthcare
Research & Quality (AHRQ).

Reducing early elective delivery is an area of focus for the American
College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and the American
Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). According to Health Affairs, elective
inductions result in more cesarean deliveries and a longer maternal

The Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care program evaluates
hospitals on quality measures for vaginal and cesarean delivery. To
receive a Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care designation, a
hospital must also demonstrate cost-efficiency.

Quality is key: Only those hospitals that first meet Blue Distinction’s
nationally established, objective quality measures are considered for
designation as a Blue Distinction Center+.

“Broward Health is committed to delivering high-quality maternity care,
and this national recognition is a testament to the dedication of our
physicians and staff to meet the health-care needs of our Coral Springs
community,” said Jared Smith, CEO of Broward Health Coral Springs.

Blue Cross Blue Shield companies across the nation have recognized more
than 1,000 hospitals as Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care.
Hospitals recognized with this designation are assessed using a
combination of quality information supplied by hospitals and cost
measures derived from BCBS companies’ medical claims.

Since 2006, the Blue Distinction Specialty Care program has helped
patients find quality specialty care in the areas of bariatric surgery,
cancer care, cardiac care, maternity care, knee and hip replacements,
spine surgery, and transplants, while encouraging health-care
professionals to improve the care they deliver. Research shows that,
compared to other hospitals, those designated as Blue Distinction
Centers demonstrate better quality and improved outcomes for patients.
On average, Blue Distinction Centers+ are also 20 percent more
cost-efficient than non-Blue Distinction Center+ designated hospitals.

For more information about the program and for a complete listing of the
designated facilities, please visit

About Broward Health

Broward Health, providing service for more than 80 years, is a
nationally recognized system in South Florida that offers world-class
healthcare to all. The Broward Health system includes the statutory
teaching hospital Broward Health Medical Center, Broward Health North,
Broward Health Imperial Point, Broward Health Coral Springs, Salah
Foundation Children’s Hospital, Broward Health Weston, Broward Health
Community Health Services, Broward Health Physician Group, Broward
Health Urgent Care, Broward Health International, and Broward Health
Foundation. For more information, visit

About Blue Cross Blue Shield Association

The Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association is a national federation of
36 independent, community-based and locally operated Blue Cross and Blue
Shield companies that collectively provide health care coverage for one
in three Americans. BCBSA provides health care insights through The
Health of America Report series and the national BCBS Health Index. For
more information on BCBSA and its member companies, please visit We also encourage you to connect with us on Facebook, check
out our videos on YouTube, follow us on Twitter and check out our blog.

About Blue Distinction Centers

Blue Distinction Centers (BDC) met overall quality measures for patient
safety and outcomes, developed with input from the medical community. A
Local Blue Plan may require additional criteria for providers located in
its own service area; for details, contact your Local Blue Plan. Blue
Distinction Centers+ (BDC+) also met cost measures that address
consumers’ need for affordable health care. Each provider’s cost of care
is evaluated using data from its Local Blue Plan. Providers in CA, ID,
NY, PA, and WA may lie in two Local Blue Plans’ areas, resulting in two
evaluations for cost of care; and their own Local Blue Plans decide
whether one or both cost of care evaluation(s) must meet BDC+ national
criteria. National criteria for BDC and BDC+ are displayed on
Individual outcomes may vary. For details on a provider’s in-network
status or your own policy’s coverage, contact your Local Blue Plan and
ask your provider before making an appointment. Neither Blue Cross and
Blue Shield Association nor any Blue Plans are responsible for
non-covered charges or other losses or damages resulting from Blue
Distinction or other provider finder information or care received from
Blue Distinction or other providers.

View source version on

Leave a Comment