Uber to end Rider Tracking after Trips end

According to Reuters, Uber has been scrutinized from a feature from its app that allows it to track riders after their trip, up to five minutes!  Consumers await the announcement of the shared location only to be functional as the app is open.  The announcement is expected this week, starting with iPhone users.

Uber has been struggling with its customer privacy reputation since 2015.  “We’ve been building through the turmoil and challenges because we already had our mandate,” said Joe Sullivan, Uber’s chief security officer, who is a member of the executive leadership team that has been co-running Uber since Kalanick left in June, in an interview with Reuters.

A recent update to the app in November 2016 had removed the option for users to limit data gathering to only when the app is in use.  Either you would let Uber always utilize your location data or never collect it.  Uber had previously explained that it needed to compile data on riders up to five minutes after a completed trip to ensure customer safety.

Following this issue, Uber has agreed with the U.S. Federal Trade Commission to audit every two years for the next 20 years to ensure the company is following the FTC’s requirements regarding privacy.

Although the location tracking tweaks will be available to iPhone users soon, Uber will catch up with Android devices in the near future, Sullivan stated.

Leave a Comment